Falling Toward the Light

I could see Crag lying, crumpled at the bottom of the pit. No matter how much I called to him he wouldn’t answer. He didn’t even look up at me. He wasn’t moving at all. Not even a twitch.

Unfortunately, the tendrils were moving and, worse, they were moving right toward him. “Crag!” I yelled again and again. “Wake up! Crag! Get up! It’s coming for you! Get up! Get up!”

Finally, Crag’s head began to rise. I felt a wave of relief. He wasn’t dead. But I had to remind myself he was from out of trouble. The tendrils were nearly upon. He wouldn’t have time to get away. Even if he was magically all right and he was able to bounce to his feet, it was unlikely he’d be able to move quickly enough to escape the tendrils. They were going to get him and his fall would have been for nothing. I had to do something and I had to do it now.

But what could I do? I had to think. I had to figure out something. I had nothing in my hands and I couldn’t get to my pockets. I couldn’t squirm my way out and there was no help coming. I was really out of options. There really wasn’t much I could do, except…well, there was one thing. I didn’t know if it would work and it didn’t seem like the smartest idea I’d ever had. But what other option did I have?

I bent down and bit into the tendril holding me. As my teeth sunk into the flesh, a green goo began to seep out. It tasted antiseptic. The tendril reeled spastically, loosening its grip on me. Suddenly, I was falling. Great idea, Frank.

As I fell I could see that the bright red light was right below me. It was practically all I could see. What was it, I wondered, I worried. I could tell most of the tendrils, if not all of them, had originated from down there. Was the light coming from this creature? Was what it really was some kind of glowing monster? Or maybe it was a rip in space/time? Another portal? Sure I’d never encountered a portal that glowed so brightly, but that didn’t mean that none existed.

Since there were so many tendrils beneath me, I tried to grab a hold of one of the them to stop my fall, but instead I ended up bouncing off of them. I ricocheted from one tendril to the next, falling further and further into the bright red light. I could barely see where i was going. I tried to keep my eyes closed it was so bright, but with every bump my eyelids bounced open and my sight was filled with bright red light.

As I plummeted ever closer to the bottom and the ominous light, I feared what awaited me. What horror was at the bottom of this pit? I theorized a portal in space/time, but a giant gaping mouth seemed to be the much more obvious conclusion. Either way, I feared that this could be the end. The fall alone should have been enough to kill me, but when I hit, it wasn’t hard sudden stop that awaited me or even a mouth full of sharp pointed teeth. Instead, it was a soft landing, like falling onto a large mattress.

A slimy, writhing mattress.

This must not have been the true bottom I decided, but merely where the tendrils had squeezed out of the ground. So maybe I wasn’t going to die falling or get chomped to death, but I was far from safe. There were still all the tendrils, not to mention the looming issue of the ominous red light.

I looked over toward it, squinting my eyes, partially blocking the light with my hand. But even with obscuring my view as much as I was, I thought I saw something, something in the center of all that light.

It was warm down here, but dry. The humidity of the higher level must have been evaporated away by all the heat. I began to worry if I could stand such an extreme temperature. The heat seemed to be emanating from the source of the light, but I moved forward anyway, crawling on my hands and knees over the slimy writhing tendrils. It got difficult to keep moving forward, the hear and the light had become so strong, but I forced myself to press on. I had to find out what that thing in the middle causing all this light was. I had to find out what it was and had to turn it off, whatever it was.

It was bright and it was hot and it was starting to hurt, but I was close enough now that I could start to be able to make out what the light source was. I saw a figure, a person. I thought it did. I thought it was a person. It looked sort of like a person. If it was that meant that someone else was trapped by this monster. Or were they the monster? Were they responsible for all of this? I didn’t know, I couldn’t, but I knew, whatever they were, I had to rescue them.

Or stop them. One or the other. Or maybe both. I had no choice. I had to put an end to this!

to be continued…

Leave a Reply

