Assembling the Team

“I’m coming too,” Norlak (aka Tim Hood, aka Timmie-Boy) announced.

“What?” Kink exclaimed. She seemed nearly as surprised as I was.

“You are?” I asked.

“Yes,” he said. “You’re not going to be able to do it on your own. So you’re going to need me to help you.”

“Thanks, uh, Timmy-boy.”

“And I shall go, too,” Tam said, stepping forward.

“Really?” I had not been expecting people to want to accompany me. I had not been expecting Kink wanting to go, though maybe I should have, and I really wasn’t expecting the others, especially seeing how dismissive Freyja and some of the others were about magic.

“Yes. We were comrades in arms. You helped me when I was in need. I will not turn my back on you when you are in need.”

“I don’t know if I…” I stopped myself. Just because I hadn’t experienced it didn’t mean they hadn’t. Maybe this meant something to Tam. And even if it didn’t, I had to admit there was a good chance I was going to need as much help as possible. “Thanks.”

“And I will, too,” said a six-armed tiger-striped lizard creature. “I’ve been telling you all magic was real for decades.”

“Thank you, G’fon,” Kink said, quickly. “I think that’s enough. Our team is starting to get a bit crowded. Any more and we’ll be the entire team.”

“In that case, Matti will stay with me,” Freyja said.

“What!?” Jamal snapped. “You’re not going to take my daughter again!”

“I meant in my team, Jamal. Relax. Geez. I was planning on having you come with me, too.”

“Oh, good,” he replied sarcastically. “That mean you going to try to lock me up somewhere?”

“Jamal, we’re fighting the Time Police. We’ve got bigger concerns than you and I.”

“That’s never stopped you before.”

“I don’t know what to tell you. But I’m not planning on locking anyone up today, ok?”

“We’ll go with Freyja,” Tilly said, knowing that if she didn’t step in that this fight could go on for a while. “That way when Frank needs someone to save him, we’ll be available.”

“Assuming we won’t need him to save us,” Jamal said.

“Either way,” his daughter said, “one of us should be available to save the other.”

“Or we could just not put ourselves in stupid situations that we know are dangerous. How about that?”

“Well, that’s no fun,” Kink said. “With a boring attitude like that, I don’t know what Freyja saw in you.”

“Knowing Freyja is the reason I have this attitude.”

“Oh, Jamal,” Freyja said. “You say the most romantic things.”

“So, we’ll do our plan,” Kink said, “and you do your plan and we’ll see which one of us can survive long enough to get to the Time Cops first.”

“Yes, Kink. Go be an idiot and find some magic. Sure. We’ll use logic to defeat them and avenge your deaths.”

“Righty-o!” Kink winked at her. “All right, everyone who’s on Team Make Freyja Look Stupid gather around. It’s time to go!”

“That’s not our official team name, is it?” G’fon asked as he walked toward Kink.

“No,” Tam said as they and Timmy-boy joined us. “We don’t have a team name. We don’t need a stupid team name. We’re just a bunch of people on a mission.”

“Oh. Does the mission have a name, like Operation Tiger-shark!”

“No. There’s no stupid nicknames for anything.”

“Oh.” G’fon looked severely disappointed.

“It’s all right,” Timmy-boy said, putting his arm around G’fon. “You can give us any kind of name you want and there’s nothing Tam can do.”

“Hey!” Tam said.

“Don’t worry, Tam. It’s not like we’re going to use his stupid nickname anyway.”

“Hey!” G’fon said.

“Thank you, Timmy-boy,” Kink said. “You’ve been a great help.”

He smiled proudly. “I do my best.”

“All right, Frankie,” Kink said. “We’re ready to kick some butt. Where are we going?”

“Where?” I repeated because I hadn’t really figured that out yet. With the adventure I was having, figuring where anyone was or would be at any particular time was getting quite complicated. “I don’t know.”

“You don’t know?”

I shook my head. “Well, the last time we saw him has been erased by the Time Police, so that didn’t happen. And the first time I met him was undone when I stopped Zlodeyskiy from coming into power, so that didn’t happen either.”

“You’re not being very helpful, Frank,” Kink said.

“I’m sorry. It’s been a crazy couple of days…weeks…I don’t even know.”

“I may be able to help,” G’fon said. “I have a device that will alert all magic users to our presence.”

“You do?”

“Yes,” he said. “Using it…doesn’t always go well.”

“How ‘not well’?” Tam asked.

“Let’s just say that not all magic users are nice people.”

“So what you’re saying is that the only way we can contact this great wizard is by using a beacon that will contact all magical people everywhere, including a bunch of people who are not very nice who we just annoyed by setting off the beacon and because we set off the beacon they now know exactly where we are?” Timmie-Boy asked.

G’fon nodded. “That about sums it up, yes.”

“Oh. Well, that sounds like a wonderful plan. We should totally do that.”

to be continued…

Leave a Reply

