Abandoned to an R&B Soundtrack

“Relax, Frank,” Kink said. “I’m only talking about threatening to erase her from history. We’re not actually going to do it…Unless, you know, we have to.”

“Excuse me!?”

She sighed. “Look, Frank, if Freyja doesn’t respond to the threat we have to do something. If she thinks we’re bluffing, we lose.”

“But we are bluffing! We won’t actually erase Tilly from existence! Will we? Will we!?!”

“Don’t worry, Frank. Freyja would never let erase her little baby girl.”

“Unless, she thinks we would never do that because I would NEVER allow you to do that! I won’t allow it!”

“She needs to be stopped, Frank. She needs to be defeated and this is the only way. I’ve tried everything else. This is the only option left, the only way that Freyja can be beat, the only way that Freyja doesn’t end up as Queen of All Space and Time. This is it. So, let’s stop screwing around. Tell me when it happens, tell me when they conceive.”

“When they con…Ugh! No. I’m not going to tell you when my best friend fertilizes the egg that will develop into his daughter. That is just…horrible.”

“It’s necessary, Frank,” she insisted. “It’s the only thing that can stop Freyja and you know it! So tell me when does it happen.”

“Like Jamal told me exactly when he impregnated Freyja, like he even knew the exact…”

“You know when they got together, Frank. Tell me.”

“I’m not going to let you stop Tilly from being born. I’ve known that girl most of my life. I’ve helped raise her.”

“Would you rather I kill Jamal? I can do that without your help. It won’t be hard.”

“You know I don’t want you to do either of those.”

“Well, now you’re just being stubborn, Frank. Girls don’t like that.”

“I don’t care what you like, Kink.”

“Fine,” she said, losing her smile. “Then here’s your last chance. Tell me when they conceive or I’ll leave you here and find out on my own. And I won’t be coming back, Frank.”

“You wouldn’t leave me,” I said. “I don’t even know where I am, when I am. You care about me too much to just abandon me.”

She chuckled. “I like you, Frank, but I have a life outside of you. And if you’re not going to help me, well, then I just don’t need you. Plus, I have a magic horn. I can make my own helpful Frank. This is your last chance. Help me or I’ll do it all myself.”

“No way,” I said. “I’m not going to help you with this.”

“Ok, Frank. I can respect that.”

“You can?” I was surprised to hear that. She didn’t usually take rejection well.

“I can,” she said. “You really took a stand. You refuse to go back on your morals. Good for you.”

“So we’re going to think of a new plan?”

“Oh, no. I’ve got my plan and it’s going to work. Bye-bye, Frankie. Enjoy…wherever the hell we are.” Then she was gone, off into the timestream.

And I was alone in a darkened room with soft R&B music playing. I had no idea where I was or more importantly when. I could be in the future. I could be in the past. I could be in a far off galaxy. I no idea where I was and no way to get home. I was utterly screwed.

I walked over to the window and looked out. There was nothing for as far as I could see, only the night’s sky, stars and darkness. I looked down. I saw that I was several floors up from what might have been called ground level. It might have been called that if there had in fact been a ground. There was no ground. None that I could see. I appeared to not be on a planet at all. Instead, it looked like I was on some kind of ship or space station. Which meant that outside my window was not the night’s sky but actual space. Maybe that meant there was some kind of way to steer this thing. If I could find the control room, I might be able to take control of it. Or maybe at least find out where I was. Or maybe there was some kind of small, fast spaceship I could confiscate. Or maybe…

“Music off,” said a voice behind me and the music shut off. Who was it? It certainly didn’t sound like Kink.

I turned around, but she was too far away from the window to see clearly. “Hello?” I said cautiously.

“Illuminate,” she said and the lights came on. I knew who it was instantly. It was Tilly from the future. We had met before. But she looked different this time. She had a metallic cybernetic arm and red glowing eyes and burn marks down her neck. Knowing the future of medicine, it seemed strange and disconcerting for her to be in such a state.

“Tilly? What happened to you?”

“This war, Frank. The time stream is in flux. It’s damaged and bleeding. The future is not what it once was. Freyja and Kink are tearing it apart. Playing with time and reality the way that there is allowing nothing to coalesce. We have to stop them before all of existence comes crashing down around us.”

to be continued…

Leave a Reply

