The Tarrgair Beast Rises

As it rose, the mountain fell away. The Beast was nearly double the size of the mountain. It towered over everything. As high as we had been, as far up in the air we still were, we were only floating level with its knee.

Above us, I saw the Sharkwoman in full giant shark mode, swimming away with Tug hanging onto her fin. She looked like a gnat compared to the Beast. They were moving much faster than us, but the Beast reached out with its hand erasing, any distance gained, and simply engulfed them.

I thought they were done for, but I saw the Sharkwoman squeak out of the Beast’s fist at the last second. Twice more the Beast tried to get them and squeeze them, but it just couldn’t catch them. Frustrated, the Beast clapped two of its hands together sending a shockwave through the air that struck us all like a hammer in the back.

I went flipping through the air and began to plummet as the enchantment on my weatherwing shirt was momentarily interrupted. I managed to stretch out my arms to slow down enough to roll as I hit the ground and avoid any serious injuries. I looked around and I couldn’t find Werz anywhere, but I did see the Sharkwoman not too far away. She wasn’t moving.

I ran to her. By the time I reached her, she had started to stir. Before I could see how she was, the Beast took another thunderous step. “Where are the others?” she asked, trying to get up.

“I don’t know.” I looked up at the Beast that was looming over us. “How can we beat that thing?”

“We don’t need to beat it. We just need its horn.”

“And how are we going to do that?”

“We shall take it!”

I looked up toward the giant as great boulders continued to fall off of it like dandruff. “Ok,” I said. “Good luck with that.”

The Beast raised its giant foot. “Move!” I yelled trying to help the Sharkwoman, but she was too heavy in her full shark form. She started to swim and I grabbed a hold of her as the Beast’s foot came down. It missed us by inches, but the force of the impact sent us tumbling through the air. I lost my grip of her and as we crashed to the ground I went bouncing off. When I stopped I was thirty feet away. I tried to get up, maybe we could get away, but the Beast’s foot was already raised for the next stomp. I looked up at the monstrous foot and saw something even more unexpected. Beyond the foot, past the giant Beast, up in the sky, I saw what could have only been a whale flying in our direction.

No, not in our direction. It wasn’t heading toward us. It was heading for the Beast. Right at it. And the Beast didn’t see it!

But I still had my own more pressing worries. The Beast’s foot was on its way down and I had to move and move quickly. Only…the Sharkwoman was still on the ground. I couldn’t just leave her. I had to save her! I rushed to her, but the foot was coming down too quickly. I wasn’t going to be able to make it in time, but I had to try! I had to! I couldn’t just let the Sharkwoman be squooshed.

But I couldn’t move her and the foot was coming. I braced for the end, so when I heard the loud smack I was surprised. I looked up toward the sound and noticed that the foot had stopped, that it wasn’t coming down anymore. In fact, it was going up! No, not up. Back. The whole Beast was falling backward! How? How could that even be possible?

The ground shook violently with the Beast’s impact. It tore itself apart beneath us. We were thrown this way and that as the ground was forced to reshape itself. It was far worse than any earthquake I had ever been in. I was more like being in the middle of a full scale hurricane in the middle of the ocean. Eventually, the ground stopped shaking and my body was no longer being tossed around. I tried to pick myself up, but there was so much dust in the air. When I coughed my ribs ached. When it the dust finally began to clear, I saw Tug had finally appeared. He was heading right toward the Sharkwoman. “Hey!” I yelled to him. “Where have you been?”

He stopped to give me a angry look. “I’ve been looking for the two of you. You know, when I wasn’t busy running for my life. If you didn’t notice there was a giant after us.”

“And now you appear? Suddenly. From out of nowhere.”

“Are you suggesting something? You going to ask the shadoweater the same thing? I still don’t see him.”

I shook my head. I had no doubts about Werz’s intentions. He had more than proven himself to me. “Where is Werz anyway?”

“Last I saw him, he was with you.”

I did not like the way he said that. “We got separated.”

“Mm-hmm,” he replied vaguely before walking over to the Sharkwoman.

She growled at him, as he reached out to her. “I’m fine.” With some effort, she rose into the air, away from Tug. “I think we still have a quest to complete.”

to be continued…

Leave a Reply

