Running Afoul of the Dinosaurmen

“I can’t believe you did that!” I yelled as we ran from the city. “What were you thinking?”

Jamal growled at me, glancing back at the dinosaur-men chasing after us. “I don’t think this is really the time for this.”

I, too, took a look back. The Dinozens were hounding us like villagers chasing frankenstein’s monster, except these guys were angrier.

“Get back here!” screamed Tyrannex, the Dinozens Master of War. He pointed his arm blaster at us and fired!

Tilly held her hand up and her personal shield deflected it away. “I don’t know how many of these shots I can block.”

“ALAN,” I commanded. “Slow them down!” ALAN fell back and fired two grenades back toward the charging dinosaur-men. The grenades exploded and smoke filled the cavern. We could hear them coughing as we ran away.I thought we were in the clear as we climbed the slope up toward the surface, but then I saw the guards waiting for us at the exit. They had guns in their claws and they looked eager to shoot us. “You know, we were almost out of here,” I said to Jamal. “We had finished what we had come here to do, we got them to sign the treaty. We just had one more night to make the agreement official…”

“Oh, shut up!” Jamal growled. “I’ve had enough of you!” For a second, I thought he was going to attack me, but instead he charged the guards. The guards, surprisingly, dropped their own weapons and chose to fight Jamal tooth and claw. I had expected them to shoot him, not this.

To be honest, I didn’t know how to handle this. Should I join in the fight? This body was relatively strong, but they were dinosaurs. I couldn’t sick ALAN on them either. That hardly seemed fair. But we couldn’t wait, the other guards were coming. We had to do something. Mathilda, on the other hand, didn’t hesitate. She rushed ahead, joining her father in the scrape, punching the Dinosaurmen in the gut, kicking them in the teeth “ALAN,” I said, “Start the plane!”

As ALAN flew off down the tunnel to the plane, I jumped into the fray. I wasn’t going to be left out. Fortunately for me, the others had already done most of the work. Jamal, when he was still in the body of a human, had been a tough guy. Now, that he was in the body of a raptor, he could really do some damage. Tilly had learned to fight when she was very young. And her recent time in the future with her mother, especially the mods she had gotten, had left her quite the terror. To be honest, the guards hadn’t stood a chance.

Unfortunately, the ones behind us had finally caught up and they weren’t about to drop their guns. “I think we should run.”

And run we did, right to the Quantumplane that ALAN had ready to go. Tyrannex roared at us as we took off. “Get back here! I’ll kill you!”

“Yeah, I don’t think that’s going to work,” Tilly said with a chuckle, glancing back down at him. The angry Dinozen flailed wildly at us.

“I can’t believe you,” I said to Jamal. “We were sent here to stop the Dinozens, to bring peace between them and the rest of the world. We stopped them! We got them to agree to turn back their invading force, to sign the treaty! And you may have ruined all of that! How could you do that? How could you be stupid?”

He growled back a warning. “Hey, now…”

“You slept with the princess!”

Jamal tried to shrug with his reptilian shoulders. “So?”

“So!” I roared. “So, you didn’t think that would tick the King off?”

“To be honest, Frank, I wasn’t thinking about the king.”

What were you thinking about?” I asked. Jamal chuckled. “Ugh,” I groaned. “She’s a dinosaur, Jamal. That’s disgusting.”

“I’m a dinosaur, Frank.”

“I know, but she’s actually a dinosaur! You’re still human. Your brain’s human.”

“And my body’s a dinosaur. There aren’t a lot of ladies into that. Or orangutans. Do you know how long it’s been, Frank? How long since I’ve been with a woman?”

“Ugh,” Tilly groaned. “I don’t need to hear any of this.”

Jamal glared at his daughter. “I’m just saying sometimes it can be lonely.”

“I get that, Jamal, but…” I sighed. “Why’d it have to be her?”

Jamal chuckled. “Hey, I didn’t choose her. She was into me. And when a princess asks you up to her room, you don’t say no.”

“You do say no!” I told him. “You absolutely say no! Especially when you’re trying to reach a peace agreement with her father!”

“He signed the peace agreement,” Jamal grumbled. “He’s not going to take it back.”

“He could take it back.”

“He’s not going to.”

“You risked everything just to get some tail.”

“Literally,” Tilly laughed before realizing what she had said. “Ew.”

“I’m sorry, Frank,” Jamal said. “But…it’s not easy being like this.”

I nodded. “We’ll see what happens. Let’s just go back to the Cave.”

to be continued…

Leave a Reply

