Freyja Comes for Her Daughter

I watched as Mathilda hurled the grenade in unmitigated fury. Like a fast ball, it flew through the air. There was no question it would hit its target, especially since its target didn’t move. The grenade exploded inches from the woman’s face. She yawned. “Are we about done?”

As if in reply, Jamal dropped from the ceiling toward her, perhaps even angrier than his daughter. The woman’s hand raised and he stopped in midair. Jamal turned to me, not out of fear or desperation, he didn’t worry for himself, but out of anger and rage. He wanted someone to stop that woman, to hurt her. “Frank! Help!”

I wish I could have helped him. I wanted nothing more than to be able to join the fray. But as I struggled against the doorway, my new massive frame too large to get through the chamber’s door, I was sad to tell him. “I can’t.”

Hoping the woman was distracted, Jennifer grabbed Mathilda and pulled her out into the hallway. The woman was not distracted. She shook her head with amusement. “Jenny, Jenny, Jenny.” Jennifer and Mathilda rose into the air, their bodies pulled from the ground. There was nothing they could do as they were hovered back into the lab. “You didn’t think that was going to work, did you?”

With a flick of her wrist, the woman sent Jennifer flying away, leaving Mathilda alone, undefended. Tilly struggled violently, but there’s nothing she can do. The woman was too powerful for us.

“Don’t do this, Freyja,” Jamal pleaded. “Don’t do this.”

The woman looked up at him and smiled. Mathilda screamed. “Say goodbye to your daddy, princess,” the woman said with glee, “because you will never see him again.”

And then, as if they were never there, Mathilda and the woman vanished. With the woman gone, so too went her power. Both Jamal and Jennifer fell to the floor, but Jamal didn’t even seem to notice the impact. All that he cared about was his missing daughter. He screamed, as if his heart had been torn from his chest, but even that would have been less painful than this.

Jennifer crawled to him and wrapped her arms around him. She held him as he began to weep. “We’re going to get her back, Jamal. Don’t worry, we’ll get her back.” But Jennifer realized that Jamal wasn’t listening. He wasn’t hearing anything she said. She stood up, leaving the man to his sorrow, and walked over to me where I remained impotently trapped inside the Box. “We’re getting her back.”

These last few minutes had left me feeling powerless. I couldn’t see how we could go after her. Mathilda had been pulled into the future by one of the most powerful people to ever exist. We had no ability to go after, but I could see Doc had a plan. “How?”

“We have to call her.”

“Call…? No! You can’t call her!”

“Trust me. I don’t want to call her anymore than you do. But we have no choice. Can you think of another way we can go after Mathilda?”

Regrettably, I shook my head. Doc was right we were out of options. We couldn’t leave Mathilda in the hands of that woman. “Fine. Do it.”

to be continued…

Leave a Reply

